Are you still hanging in there?

“There is nothing wrong with me
There isn’t, really”
I wake up every day to chanting the same set of words
I only have myself to depend on, after all
It’s just enough to keep me going until the sun sets
I’ll put emphasis on “everyday”

“There is nothing wrong with me
There isn’t, really”
The world whispers to me every day, those very words
It’s starting to be more apparent lately
If this continues, then a time extension
Might just be necessary for the everyday news channel

“There is nothing wrong with me
There isn’t, really”
I start to hear them from my friends, my siblings
And maybe I’ve heard them from my parents before
Really, are we all really bearing the same pain?
Ah, are you still there? Do you understand now?

There’s something wrong with me, definitely
You’ll only realize that to deny is useless when it’s all over
There’s a fine line between being strong and being reckless
Do we say those words to appear strong?
If that’s what it takes, I’ll quit being strong.

And you should too.

Leave a Reply

